Dinner with an extra MMMmmMmm

24 Jan

So the night before last night’s dinner was another success. I didn’t get to write last night because we were installing our new pan rack (photos coming soon!) We had Becca’s mother over for dinner which gave me a chance to cook for someone else besides just us. Its nice to cook for an audience. I would say that it validates the three hours spent making the dinner, but heck, we all know that’s the fun part!

I decided something light for lunch was in order because of the meat dishes we’ve had lately. We settled on a cabbage salad. I found a great recipe, Cabbage salad with apple and caraway. I had to modify slightly due to the fact you apparently can’t find currants even in the best grocery store here. I did a poor substitution with raisins, but other than turning the salad into a Waldorf, it really worked with the flavors. Just remember when making this salad, that cabbage goes a lot further than you think it does once you shred it. The dressing turned out well. I rarely use packaged or processed food anymore, so the lemon juice was freshly squeezed.

Dinner consisted of our home-made wheat bread, a Caesar salad, and for the entree we had Herb Crusted Pork Tenderloin with Mascarpone Polenta Cakes and Port Wine Reduction. I decided to go with steamed broccoli for the vegetable. I have to be honest, it was one of the best pork dishes I’ve made yet. The tastes were very mellow and had a very natural blend. The only tough part to this dish is remembering to make the polenta cakes early enough. This dish is absolutely a do-over, but I’m going to go for a bit less portion sizes. My pork tenderloin were beautiful pieces just over an inch thick but I’ll be butterflying them next time.


Now cooking: taking a break
Now playing: P.S. I Love You by Billie Holiday

One Response to “Dinner with an extra MMMmmMmm”

  1. Kimberley January 26, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    Yay! I’m happy that it worked, but bummed that currants are so hard to come by. (I had no idea.)

Leave a Reply

