A Mellow Mood

29 Jan

We’re going on day number 5 and our new pan rack is still on the wall!  For a few days I could almost hear it falling off the wall in the middle of the night.  It would probably wake the people down the street.  I have also stopped doing a double-take every time I see it in the corner of my eye.  The first day it was up our budding chef actually said hello to it.  I’m not sure what to make of that.  I think it was more a sign of respect rather than an unhealthy connection to it.  Given that it hangs above his head when we sit at the table, he has a right to show it proper respect.

I would also like to share my experience at Lombardino’s.  It was truly wonderful.  I had a very traditional Caesar salad.  It included the eggs, anchovies, and fresh dressing.  I then moved on to the main course of pumpkin stuffed ravioli with a light cheese sauce.  I picked  a mint chocolate dessert.  it was very creamy and the mint flavor was quite strong.  I enjoyed it, but it wasn’t as good as the flourless chocolate cake.  I had one taste of that cake and needed more.  I tried turning on the charm and moved on to looking seriously pathetic.  No luck.  I decided to steal it.  However, he was sitting to my right.  I am left handed and not as coordinated, sneaky, or quick with my right hand.  I made note of that for future dining experiences.

We just finished our spinach lentil soup.  It was very mellow although it did have a slight kick to it.  The soup was topped with a little yogurt.  It had a similar effect as sour cream, but added a sweet taste.  The soup was exactly what I needed.  I had a difficult week ending with a stressful meeting.  The soup, a very mellow red wine, and a little chocolate relaxed me.  I give it 4 licks for both flavor and mood.

Another important feature to mention is that the dishes and prep work for this meal are very minimal.  This was great given that I was not in the mood to stand at the sink for a long time.  The dogs were also happy since they were not banished from the kitchen for very long.  That makes up for being stuck with dry crunchy chunks.  Ok, maybe not.

Good night to all and to all a good night.

Scrubbie

One Response to “A Mellow Mood”

  1. Waring R. Fincke January 29, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    I think we need more instruction on chocolate.

    Well done scrubbie and to the aspiring chef too

    Uncle Waring

Leave a Reply

