A little late….but oh so worth it!

1 Feb

Okay I was beat to punch line by Scrubbie.  I’ll just have to make up for it by making you drool again!  Sunday night’s dinner was one that will stick in our minds for a while.  Some of the fragrances are still hanging in the kitchen in spots.  Its kind of like looking for the best sound spot in a room.  We come in and try to find the pockets of scent to be able to relive that meal once more.

I began the meal with preparing the kale and potato cakes.  As I’ve said before, I love the smell of garlic and shallots while they saute.

While the garlic, shallots, and kale were sauteing, I cooked and mashed the potatoes.  I didn’t use Idaho as suggested in the recipe because I had some red potatoes left over from the other night.  Like I said, we have had to see what we can put together after spending a fortune at the store last week.

The potatoes came out wonderfully creamy.  It could be due to that fantastic product…..butter.  As the movie Julie & Julia said, everything is better with butter.  I believe I’ve used more butter in the past three weeks than I have in the past three years.

The recipe I followed for the chicken was straight forward and unchanged.  I butterflied our chicken breast again to save on the portion size.  We’ve both decided that a full chicken breast makes for a meal and a half for either one of us.  Now we know how the French afford those other ingredients…..they always cut their meat in half!

The dish came out absolutely perfect except for the fact I used too much sauce when plating.  The driving reason was that it was in the pan, and I felt bad for not using it.  Since the sauce was made of of lemon juice and chicken stock, its a strong sauce.  Use less than you think you should and the meal will be spot on.  The recipe makes many more potato cakes than you are going to need for two people, even a few more than for four.  Luckily, they freeze well.

Overall I give this dish 4 licks because of the sauce incident.  Without that, I would probably go to a 4.5 or 4.75.  Without a doubt a do-over at some point.

Now playing: Bassoon Concerto, for bassoon, strings & continuo in C major, RV 474 by Antonio Vivaldi
Next recipe: TBD

One Response to “A little late….but oh so worth it!”

  1. Kimberley February 4, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    Potato and kale cakes sounds absolutely delish! You should post the recipe and how you made it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

