A chicken dinner that would make a chicken proud.

5 Feb

Tuesday night was probably one of the finer chicken meals I’ve had.  I know that is a strong, blanket statement, but its quite true.  The tastes in this meal combined to be sublime and smooth with a nice depth.  Again, the fine members over at Epicurious.com came through with Supremes Au Vin Blanc (Chicken in white wine) and pan-roasted asparagus with thyme.

Now I do have to take a moment and brag on my herb keeper.  My thyme from New Years Eve is still alive and kicking strong.  My two week old mint still looks like its planted in dirt.  I’m amazed and am most likely going to be getting a second keeper since the one I have is completely packed and overflowing.  Plus my asparagus is getting jealous.

Back to the chicken.  Mmmm, the chicken.  The recipe I made was nearly to the letter of what the author wrote except for the addition of some thinly sliced Shitake mushrooms.  After the chicken was cooked and the wine sauce was reducing, I sauteed the mushrooms in olive oil and added them to the reduction.  I also found the reduction to be too thin for a sauce that was to sit nicely on the chicken and plate.  So I threw half a tablespoon of flour in about two tablespoons of water and added that to the reduction just before I planned to plate the food.  Again, I’ve found that a butterflied chicken breast is enough for both of us.

I have to take another side.  What is with the “organic” chicken breasts at the stores now?  And who considers these monster chickens natural?  What are they fed…organic steroids?  These are really the Arnold Schwarzenegger of the chicken world.  Can they even walk?  Thank you to the producers of these freaks of the animal kingdom, but I’ll stick to a chicken that can see its feet.

This recipe and combination for me was 5 licks and a paw.  It could possibly be made better by someone like Chef Ramsey, but I’d like to see him try!

Since I changed things slightly, the recipe I used was as follows:

Serves 2

Ingredients:

Chicken
1 medium to large chicken(no, not monster chicken) breast, butterflied
2 tbsp butter + 1 tbsp olive oil
1/4-1/3 cup flour
1 tbsp olive oil
3 oz Shitake mushrooms
1 cup chicken broth
1 teaspoon fresh rosemary, chopped
2 pinches of salt
1/4 ground pepper
1/2 cup white wine
1/2 tbsp flour whisked in 2 tbsp water

Asparagus
12 stalks asparagus
5 fresh sprigs of thyme
1 tbsp butter
2 tbsp olive oil

Preparation:

Begin with the asparagus by adding the butter, olive oil, and thyme to a large skillet on medium to medium-high heat.  Once you see the butter start to bubble, add the asparagus and turn down the heat slightly to avoid burning the olive oil.  Cook until nicely browned/blackened in spots, about 15 minutes.

For the chicken, add the butter and olive oil to a non-stick saute pan on medium-high heat.  Dredge the chicken in the flour to coat evenly and add to the pan.  Cook the chicken for a minute or two (depending on thickness) per side.  Remove from pan and set aside.

Add 1 tbsp of olive oil to small skillet on medium-high heat.  Saute mushrooms for 2-3 minutes.  At the same time, add the broth and rest of the ingredients to the saute pan.  Add the mushrooms to the reduction.  Lay chicken breasts in reduction and simmer until reduced by half.  Remove chicken to plates and stir in flour and water to the reduction and simmer for another minute or until slightly thickened.  Drizzle sauce over chicken and add sprig of parsley for garnish.  Remove asparagus from pan and plate.

Desert

Maple oat banana muffinsHaving a sweet tooth is a bad thing at times, or so I’m told.  So I decided to go at my sweet tooth with less guilt and add my daily fruit with my sugar.  Its like the old argument that apple pie is good for you!  I decided on maple oat banana muffins.  I think the aroma while cooking is enough to satisfy your cravings.  I followed the recipe to the letter, so there’s nothing really to add.  They were divine…..and all 12 were gone by noon the next day.  Hey I shoveled a lot and needed the calories to keep warm!

Maple oat banana muffins

And for the rating…..a solid 4.75 licks.  Moist, melt-in-your-mouth, banana goodness.

Now playing: C’est Si Bon by Louis Armstrong
Next recipe: Spinach and Sun-Dried Tomato Frittata

One Response to “A chicken dinner that would make a chicken proud.”

  1. Kimberley February 13, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    I want to hear more about this herb keeper! Sounds like something I need in my kitchen.

Leave a Reply

