Away but not forgotten.

5 Feb

So by now you’ve all probably thought we’ve left and this whole cooking thing was a fad.  Not so, we’re back!  Last week made up for a month or more of dryspell for my business.  Apparently 2011 is going to be a bit busier than 2010, and that’s a good thing.  Unfortunately at times it will mean less cooking, or less blogging.  Now this last week was a bit of both but I do have some catching up to do.

Monday was probably the most cliche work Monday there could be.  Work load, problems, and a hectic schedule landed us in the grab and run eating mode.  There’s not much to say about the cooking that day.  To be quite honest, I can’t remember what I ate!

I do have to stop for a minute before getting to Tuesday and reiterate what we’re all about.  Given that I’m just getting my feet wet with “real” cooking, there’s not a lot of experimentation going on.  I’m lucky to follow someone else’s directions and get something edible.  What I’m doing is finding what might look good and reporting on if I was able to come out with a respectable result.  Or what I might have substituted based on a need, not necessarily a burning desire, or knowledge of something better.  I know one of the hardest things to do on a daily basis is come up with recipe ideas for the family, especially when you are trying to be more creative than pizza or mac-n-cheese.  Bear with me through the journey of this food discovery and you never know, I might surprise you one day with an original creation.  Until then, we’re going to sift through the thousands of recipes out there and see what looks good.

Now playing: Candy by Nat King Cole

Leave a Reply

